### COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the Council of the Bolsover District Council held as a virtual meeting on Wednesday, 3<sup>rd</sup> March 2021 at the close of Council (10:41 hours).

PRESENT:-

Members:-

## Councillor Tom Munro in the Chair

Councillors Rita Turner (Vice-Chair), Derek Adams, Allan Bailey, Rose Bowler, Anne Clarke. Dexter Bullock, Tracey Cannon, Nick Clarke. Jim Clifton. Tricia Clough, Paul Cooper, David Dixon, Maxine Dixon, Mary Dooley, Ray Heffer, David Downes, Steve Fritchley, Natalie Hov. Andrew Joesbury, Chris Kane, Tom Kirkham, Duncan McGregor, Clive Moesby, Evonne Parkin, Graham Parkin, Sandra Peake, Peter Roberts, Deborah Watson and Jen Wilson.

Officers:- Lee Hickin (Director of Corporate Resources and Head of Paid Service), Karen Hanson (Director of Environment and Enforcement), Theresa Fletcher (Section 151 Officer), Sarah Sternberg (Solicitor to the Council & Monitoring Officer), Grant Galloway (Director of Development), Pam Brown (Head of Leader's Executive and Partnerships), Victoria Dawson (Head of Housing Management and Enforcement), Sara Gordon (Human Resources and Organisational Development Manager), Nicola Calver (Governance Manager), Amy Bryan (Senior Governance Officer) and Tom Scott (Governance Officer).

## CL778-20/21 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Jane Bryson, Liz Smyth, Janet Tait and Ross Walker.

# CL779-20/21 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations made at the meeting.

## CL780-20/21 EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

The Chair moved that the public be excluded from the meeting during the discussion of the following items of business to avoid the disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended by the Local Government (Access to Information) (Variation) Order 2006). This was seconded by Councillor Steve Fritchley (Leader of the Council).

**RESOLVED** that that the public be excluded from the meeting during the discussion of the following items of business to avoid the disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended by the Local Government (Access to Information) (Variation) Order 2006).

### COUNCIL

## CL781-20/21 HONORARY ALDERMEN

Councillor Duncan McGregor (Deputy Leader of the Council) presented a report to Members seeking approval to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the nominees proposed to and recommended by the Council's Honours Panel in accordance with the agreed procedures.

The Monitoring Officer advised that a recorded vote should be taken on the item because a vote to approve the recommendations would require more than a two thirds majority. As noted in the report, Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 stated "that a principal council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting thereon, at a meeting of the Council specially convened for the purpose with notice of the object, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered Eminent Services to the Council as past members of that Council but who are not then members of the Council."

The recommendations in the report were moved by Councillor Duncan McGregor and seconded by Councillor Steve Fritchley (Leader of the Council).

For the motion – 26

(Councillors Derek Adams, Allan Bailey, Rose Bowler, Dexter Bullock, Tracey Cannon, Anne Clarke, Nick Clarke, Jim Clifton, Tricia Clough, Paul Cooper, Mary Dooley, David Downes, Steve Fritchley, Ray Heffer, Andrew Joesbury, Chris Kane, Tom Kirkham, Duncan McGregor, Clive Moesby, Tom Munro, Evonne Parkin, Graham Parkin, Sandra Peake, Rita Turner, Deborah Watson and Jen Wilson.)

Against the motion – 1

(Councillor Peter Roberts.)

Abstentions – 3

(Councillor David Dixon, Maxine Dixon and Natalie Hoy.)

On being put to a recorded vote it was **RESOLVED** that the Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman on the former Councillors listed in the report.

(Monitoring Officer/Governance Manager)

The meeting concluded at 11:00 hours.